Tags

, , , ,

It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good ….
–“Feeling Good” by Nina Simone

 

I hope your new year is getting off to a great start – mine is!  I recently added about 15 items to my new ETSY store and I am actively working on more pieces for the store.

Like most people around this time, I have been thinking about what I want to accomplish this year.  I’m in the process of goal setting and planning for this year in EVERY area of my life.  One major and obvious area is my beading business.  Building up my ETSY store, creating a Facebook page and scheduling more frequent blog posts are all part of my business plans for this year.

As the name of my blog implies, the inspiration for this blog is the large number of unfinished projects in my stash. (soooo many)  Like letting go of the past (year), I am also letting go of UFO’s that no longer interest me or that will not be worn or sold for whatever reasons.  Going through my UFO stash, I started feeling a bit hoardishy (is that a word?).  Many pieces seem to correlate to an attitude or an object outside of my beading that needs to go.  I’m taking them apart so I can use the beads for new projects.

Now this bracelet I made last year was not a UFO but a mistake.  I substituted the 2 crystal & bead loop closures with 2 magnetic clasps.  Uh, yeah, that did not work out like I thought it would.  I did not anticipate the clasps sticking to each other.  Really?  They’re magnets!  Made it rather difficult to put on and take off.  After trying to wear it a couple of times, I decided to take it apart.

image

Now I have a clean slate.  I can choose to remake it with a different clasp or make something else altogether.

image

This new year is a clean slate.  I am looking forward to new ideas/projects, new experiences and learning new skills.

What’s new for you in 2014?

